fbpx Wein Prize | The Studio Museum in Harlem

Wein Prize

The Joyce Alexander Wein Artist Prize, one of the most significant awards given to individual artists in the United States today, was established in 2006 by jazz impresario, musician and philanthropist George Wein to honor his late wife, Joyce Alexander (1928–2005), a long-time Trustee of the Studio Museum and a woman whose life embodied a commitment to the power and possibilities of art and culture. Presented each year at the Studio Museum’s fall Gala, the $50,000 award recognizes and honors the artistic achievements of an African-American artist who demonstrates great innovation, promise and creativity. 

Inspired by his wife’s life-long support of living artists, George Wein envisioned the Wein Prize as an extension of the Studio Museum’s mission to support experimentation and excellence in contemporary art.

Joyce Alexander Wein Artist Prize winners:

2020 Cauleen Smith
2019 Torkwase Dyson
2018 Diedrick Brackens
2017 Simone Leigh
2016 Derrick Adams
2015 Njideka Akunyili Crosby
2014 Samuel Levi Jones
2013 Gary Simmons
2012 Jennie C. Jones
2011 Leonardo Drew
2010 Leslie Hewitt
2009 Glenn Ligon
2008 Nadine Robinson
2007 Trenton Doyle Hancock
2006 Lorna Simpson